Euro 2012 Quarterfinals – Update

With one game left in the quarterfinals, I found the Germany vs Greece game and Spain vs France game rather boring and as expected. Germany scored a ton of goals against the defensively weak Greece and Spain kept most of the ball while France struggled to scored on a tougher defense than Sweden with their top striker not being able to find his bearings all tournament. I love Big Benz, he is great, but did not preform. Portugal vs Czech was very exciting and maybe it was because of the seemingly DIRECT similarity to the Spain vs Croatia game. Bullet points include

-Strong attacking from underdog in first half

-Unable to score in the first half, but nonetheless looked dangerous

-Towards the end of the second half, favorites took over and grabbed a hold of what they needed to win

-Second half is the favorites beating down on the defense of the underdogs

-With much persistence, favorites crack underdogs at the end

Almost textbook, but makes for exciting games and good television. I feel like both the winners, Germany and Spain, played sort of a mediocre game compared to their normal standards. It didn’t help that both Greece and France didn’t play well either, but France has a little less leeway on that. One note is that Ribery played great and Casillas still proves to be one of the best keepers by making important saves after long lapses of inactivity.

There lies my lack of writing for the past couple days. I find it hard to write when I find the games boring or difficult, and therefore the best is not brought out from within me. I only want to put out good content and I do not believe I can for the past two games, despite them being my picks for the finals. Regardless, I will try my best to do a good write-up for the next quarterfinal game, as that one is supposed to be a real hoot.

Take care readers!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

